Netherlands Economists Day 2014

On the 31st of October 2014 the Netherlands Economists Day (N.E.D.) will be organized at the Dutch Central Bank. This day provides all Dutch economists - those who live and work in the Netherlands - with the opportunity to discuss relevant economic issues.

October 31, 2014
Dutch Central Bank, Amsterdam

Netherlands Economists Day 2014

Friday, October 31st 2014, the Netherlands Economists Day will take place. The perfect opportunity to exchange views on major economic issues with fellow economists. The day is open to all economists - from researchers to policy makers - and you're invited. The highlights:

  • Presentations of current economic research
  • Debates on current policy issues
  • Award ceremony best ESB article 2014
  • KVS Tinbergen Lecture by Prof. Larry Summers

The full program is available (download).

De Nederlandsche Bank (Westeinde 1, Amsterdam).

Registration is no longer possible due to great interest!!

Limited seats at the Tinbergen lecture
We expect a lot of interest in the Tinbergen Lecture by Professor Summers. Members of the KVS, for whom the KVS organizes the lecture, receive priority for a seat in the auditorium where the lecture is held. If the interest exceeds the capacity of the auditorium, non-members of the KVS can follow the lecture in an adjacent room via a video link. If you want to be sure that you can attend the lecture in the auditorium, you should join the KVS as a member.

More information and organization For more information, please contact the organizing committee by e-mail ( The Netherlands Economists Day is organized on behalf of:

  • CPB Netherlands Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis (CPB);
  • De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB);
  • Economisch Statistische Berichten (ESB) and
  • Koninklijke Vereniging voor de Staathuishoudkunde (KVS)

Organising committee
Carin Beemsterboer (DNB / KVS)
Jasper de Jong (DNB)
Suzanne Kok (MinFin)
Jasper Lukkezen (CPB)
Jeannette Verbruggen (CPB)
Niels Vermeer (CPB / Tilburg University)
Gelijn Werner (ESB)
Karen van der Wiel (CPB)
Mariëlle Non (CPB)

Scientific Committee
Yvonne Adema (EUR)
Michiel Bijlsma (CPB)
Sjef Ederveen (EZ)
Henri de Groot (VU)
Jakob de Haan (DNB)
Marco Haan (RUG)
Marike Knoef (Leiden)
Pierre Koning (SZW / VU)
Pierre Mohnen (UM)
Arthur van Soest (Tilburg University)
Laura Spierdijk (RUG)

Committee of Recommendation
Laura van Geest (CPB)
Jakob de Haan (DNB / RUG)
Arnoud Boot (UvA / KVS)
Clemens Kool (UU)
Bas Jacobs (EUR)
Jean-Jacques Herings (UM)
Erwin Bulte (WUR / Tilburg University)
Harry Garretsen (RUG)
Jan van Ours (Tilburg University)
Eelke de Jong (Radboud)
Koen Caminada (Leiden)
Guido Biessen (Minez)
Ernst van Koesveld (MinFin)
Pierre Koning (ACGIH / VU)
Annemarie Sipkes (MinOCW)
Barbara Baarsma (SEO / UvA)
Wim Boonstra (Rabobank / VU)
Henri de Groot (VU / ECORYS)



Jeannette Verbruggen