EUROFRAME conferentie, "Labour markets after the crisis: policy challenges for the EU economies"

EUROFRAME, een samenwerkingsverband van Europese instituten voor de analyse van economisch beleid, waaronder het CPB, houdt op 10 juni 2011 in Helsinki zijn achtste conferentie over economisch beleid in de Europese Unie.

10 juni 2011

Tijdstip: Vrijdag 10 juni 2011
Locatie: Helsinki, Finland

De conferentie zal gaan over arbeidsmarkten en de beleidsmatige gevolgen van de huidige crisis voor arbeidsmarktbeleid in de Europese Unie. 

The EUROFRAME group of research institutes (CASE, CPB, DIW, ESRI, ETLA, IfW, NIESR, OFCE, PROMETEIA, WIFO) will hold its eighth annual Conference on Economic Policy Issues in the European Union in Helsinki on 10 June 2011. The aim of the conference is to provide an economic forum for debate on economic policy issues relevant in the European context.

The Conference will focus this year on EU labour markets. Labour markets have reacted in very different ways in the 2007-2009 crisis with unemployment rates reaching high levels in some countries while remaining almost unchanged in some others. Contributions should address issues related to: what were the impacts of structural features and reforms on EU labour market performances before the crisis? How did the crisis affect the EU labour markets (role of output, productivity, sector components and policy measures)? Will output growth be sufficient to bring unemployment rates back to their pre-crisis levels? Should policy measures be implemented to support job creation in the short-term? What structural reforms are needed in the longer-term? How to deal with young and older people employment issues? How to adapt the industrial structure in the EU in a global economy? What should be done to bring the EU economies towards fullemployment?

Submission Procedure
Abstracts should be submitted by e-mail until 4 March to Abstracts (2 pages) should mention: title of communication, name(s) of the author(s), affiliation, corresponding author’s e-mail address, postal address, telephone number.
Authors will be informed of the decision of the scientific committee by early April. Full papers should be received by e-mail by 23 May.

Scientific Committee
Karl Aiginger (WIFO), Kari Alho (ETLA), Alan Barrett (ESRI), Christian Dreger (DIW), Rob Euwals (CPB), Klaus-Jürgen Gern (IfW), Simon Kirby (NIESR), Paolo Onofri (PROMETEIA), Henri Sterdyniak (OFCE), Mateusz Walewski (CASE), Catherine Mathieu (OFCE, Scientific Secretary)

Local Organising Institute (ETLA)
Contact: Markku Kotilainen

Contact - Abstract and paper submissions
Catherine Mathieu:,
tel.: +33 (0)1 44 18 54 37